Conwy Branch covers the county borough of Conwy, the second largest but sparsely populated county in North Wales. The larger towns of Colwyn Bay, Llandudno, Conwy and Abergele lie along the coast which is notable for Conwy Castle, the limestone headlands of the Great and Little Orme and wide sandy beaches.

The stunning Conwy Valley, Dyffryn Conwy, is bordered to the east by the Denbigh Moors and to the west by the mountains of Snowdonia National Park which covers a third of the county.

Some of the highest Welsh-speaking percentages in the whole of Wales can be found in the centre and south of Conwy County. Over 70% of the residents of Cerrigydrudion, Llansannan, Llangernyw and Pentrefoelas are Welsh speaking.

About Our Branch

The Branch monitors the planning applications made to Conwy Council and the Snowdonia National Park, responding to any that have a potential impact on the rural communities and landscape. We strive to comment constructively and positively but we do not shy from registering our reasoned objections when necessary.

We value our close relationship with the Conwy Valley Civic Society who, as their name suggests, keep a close eye on all developments in the valley.

Join us

Conwy Branch always welcomes new members from individuals, families, community councils, corporates to schools. All our meetings are open to any person wishing to learn more about the Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales with an intention of joining the organisation. Our membership has mostly been drawn from the coastal towns, with the inland areas definitely under-represented.  We aim to rectify this imbalance.

We always have a summer visit to somewhere special and always invite all CPRW members and friends to our Christmas Lunch, a special event to round off the year.

Our Contact Details

Chair: Joyce Hughes
Secretary: Innes Mathieson
E-mail [email protected]

[instagram-feed feed=1]